Selected Works

Newspaper/​Web writing


The New York Times
Ive contributed to more than 10 columns in the business section over the years including "The Boss," a widely read column before it was discontinued in 2013.

Workspace:
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/01/11/business/workspace-staying-up-to-speed.html?_r=0

Vocations:
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/01/11/jobs/watching-their-every-step-.html

The Boss:
http://www.nytimes.com/2011/09/25/jobs/25boss.html?_r=0

SUNY at Binghamton alumni magazine
This was a fun profile to do:

http://www.binghamton.edu/magazine/index.php/magazine/feature/grace-notes


USA Weekend
I've written on parenting topics for this Sunday supplement to many newspapers.

Here's a piece that utilized my background writing for pharmaceutical companies:
http://www.usaweekend.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=200991208006



Magazine writing


EY Magazine
From EY's (Ernst & Young's) magazine for entrepreneurs (Pg. 5):

http:/​/​www.ey.com/​Publication/​vwLUAssets/​EY-Exceptional-magazine-PDF/​$FILE/​EY-exceptional-magazine-jan-jun-2014.pdf



Continental
If you've flown Continental, you may have seen my byline in the airline's magazine


Columns


On Wall Street
I wrote the executive column for this financial services industry magazine for almost 10 years. It features the people on the retail side of the major wirehouses and other top companies, including Vanguard, Deutsche Bank, and others.


Family Business
For Family Business, I write the At the Helm column, which has a Dewars-profile format. The column features heads of companies that are household names, such as Aflac, Columbia Sportswear, and Dietz & Watson.

Books


Sober Siblings: How to Help Your Alcoholic Brother or Sister and Not Lose Yourself
(Da Capo Lifelong, 2008)

Here's an excerpt from the back cover of my book on addiction in the family:

In the vein of Adult Children of Alcoholics, Sober Siblings is the first book geared specifically to the siblings of alcoholics. Patricia Olsen, sister of two alcoholic brothers, shares her personal experiences along with interviews with other sober siblings, while Petros Levounis, M.D., the director of The Addiction Institute of New York at St. Luke's and Roosevelt Hospitals, offers expert advice.

I also write book proposals for aspiring authors.

Featured Writing

Newspaper/Web writing
Magazine writing
Columns
Nonfiction/Self-help
An empowering, practical guide to help the brothers and sisters of alcoholics

Quick Links